Excuse Me, You Have Egg Yolk in Your Chest Hair

Sometimes you need to see something very gross to know the relationship is over.

Adeline Dimond
P.S. I Love You

--

Sometimes you see an image so alarming that the rest of your life snaps into place in an instant, like when a roller coaster jolts to a stop and your neck does that scary little snapping thing. It happened to me on a punishingly hot day in Palm Springs, when the sun became a deranged stalker. Even inside with jacked-up air conditioning, it had its nose pressed up to the window, staring. Hot.

I was at a very hip Palms Springs hotel because I had decided treat my on and off again boyfriend M to a weekend away for his birthday. It was a dumb decision. Very dumb.

M and I had been in an dysfunctional relationship vortex for about five years. Our interactions were a mishmash of the silent treatment punctuated by earth-shattering sex and screaming arguments. We had zero business in being in a hotel room together.

But worse, a few years prior to this ill-fated weekend, I got knocked up by accident and ended up having an abortion I was initially unsure I wanted. Ultimately it was the right decision, but the prelude to the whole ordeal consisted of M screaming at me in a Denny’s, telling me I would be a terrible mother unlike his ex-wife, whom he suddenly and…

--

--