Falling Out Of Love Is When Your Relationship Finally Begins

Five signs you’ll survive the dip

Barry Davret
P.S. I Love You

--

Licensed from Shutterstock // Olena Yakobchuk

Five months after falling in love, I sold my apartment and quit my job. Excited and a bit nervous, I flew out west to visit my girlfriend and find our together-apartment.

After two days of searching, we signed a lease. On that final night, before my flight back to NY, we celebrated, precariously drinking a bottle of red wine on her bed of white sheets.

When finished, we undressed and slipped under the covers. At that moment, we looked at each other, and I realized I had fallen out of love.

Our relationship began five months earlier with an alcohol inspired kiss outside the neon lights of a 24-hour diner on the streets of Manhattan. We faced our first challenge the next morning.

In eight weeks, she’d move out west to begin a new life. We both realized the unlikelihood of longterm success, but the intensity of our attraction overcame logical thinking. We decided to make a go of it.

The ferocity of our romance dominated my thoughts, so much so, it nearly got me fired. Deadlines came and went. Client commitments passed without warning from me. Back then, AOL Instant Messenger was the thing. We’d send each other messages that would have gotten both of us summoned to…

--

--

Barry Davret
P.S. I Love You

Work in Forge | Elemental | BI | GMP | Others | Contact: barry@barry-davret dot com. Join Medium for full access: https://barry-davret.medium.com/membership