Image credit: Pixabay

Fathers, Poets, and Highlights of the Week

PS I Love You Newsletter #83

P.S. I Love You
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readJun 16, 2019

--

Hey Friends,

My father is 86 years old. Now that I live 2000 miles away from him, he calls me every morning to ask the same question: Hey babe. How’s the writing going? (He also rants about politics, complains about his boring, no-sugar diet, and reminds me to get my oil changed.) He’s the first person I told I am a writer. I was in fourth grade.

Today we celebrate fathers, and all the fatherly people in our lives who have encouraged us, believed in us, protected us.

Benjamin Sledge hopes men everywhere train their children in virtue instead of vice, in Six Character Traits I Wish Every Father Taught Young Men.

In Making Father’s Day Jam, Shannon Casey is grateful for the reminder that in the midst of grief, there is still beauty.

Alister Felix tells a story of love, loss and resilience in Father, This is What I Want to Say to You.

Highlights of the Week

We decide how much we are worth, says Tim Denning in You Are Told You’re Not Good Enough — Now What? Maybe the person telling you that you are not good enough is just projecting their own failures or views of the world onto you.

In Timeless Advice on How to Live a Good Life, Michael Thompson reminds us to never stop looking for the good around us … positivity is a choice, not luck.

Shannon Ashley shares how transformational it can be to find yourself responsible for someone else in How to Get Out of Your Own Way.

Tiffany Sun traveled half way around the world to learn the truth. Breaking Up with My Ex was the Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me.

“Like waves, our entire life comes flooding back with memories of the places and people and moments we knew … ” Melissa Firman in And Both Shall Row.

Benjamin DavisGrandmother Still Believes in Love … and she just called him a d*ck.

In The Best Ways to Divorce-Proof Your Marriage, Glenna Gill says “Marriage is not a 50/50 thing. It never has been. Sometimes we have to pull 100% of the weight in the relationship, and sometimes it’s the other way around.”

Courtney Christine is Saying Goodbye Without Saying Goodbye to her grandmother.

And Kris Gage debuts her new column, exclusive to PS I Love You, with Saying No Doesn’t Make You a Bad Person.

Photo by Trust "Tru" Katsande on Unsplash

Fiction and Poetry

Lots of must-read stories and poetry on the home page, including these gems:

Outdoor Cafe/Decadent Dessert by Ré Harris

Shadows by C. M. Craver

The Lesson by Dr Pat Aitcheson

Ravages and Regrets by Steve B Howard

My Daughter by Debra Simon

That’s all for now, friends. More big news coming soon … stay tuned! #OneLove

Kay

--

--