Fireflies

A poem

laksh
P.S. I Love You
1 min readNov 10, 2020

--

Photo by toan phan on Unsplash

I still remember her through her favorite song
and the way she danced when it came on.
She would pull my hand
and put it on her waist;
would choreograph my moves to the beats.
She cared for me more than myself
but the fool I was, I pushed her away.
Misunderstood her care and tethered her love;
held her flight because I wasn’t enough.
I look around and there is nothing here
and yet, a lot to drive me crazy.
Empty bottles, torn pages, cracked glass,
and that scratch on the stereo
from when she broke a plate
because I broke her heart.
I was distant when she needed to talk
I was cold when she needed my warmth,
and I was gone when she needed my arms.
Ignored her calls, texts, and her love.
I hurt the only angel I’d known.
She was wrong to love me
because I couldn’t understand her worth.
I was blessed with her embrace,
and I made a mistake.
I try to convince my heart to forgive myself,
But how can I forgive myself?

Outside my window pane are fireflies,
Just like the night we first met.

--

--

laksh
P.S. I Love You

an easily irritable misanthrope who likes to learn stuff, write poems, and ocassionally build software