Forever in the Present

Alanah Andrews
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readMay 29, 2018
Photo by alpay tonga on Unsplash

Her hair is as white as a fresh winter’s snow, but she tells me it was once a deep ebony. I didn’t know her then.

We didn’t meet until her face was criss-crossed with mountains, when her joints creaked and her eyes peered uncomprehendingly into the distance.

Sometimes I curse the fates that we didn’t meet earlier. Would we have married? Had children?

But dwelling on a fictional past is a disservice to our current lives. Sitting outside, I hold her fragile hand in my own and make a promise.

I will hold her with me, forever in the present.

******************************************************************

Alanah Andrews is the author of Beyond: A short story collection. She primarily writes dystopian fiction but tends to follow wherever the muse leads her.

--

--