From Across the Table

Alex Hanna
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readFeb 9, 2020

--

Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

you look across the table
into my eyes
i wonder what you see
do you see the pain
just beneath my smile?
or do you see the mask i parade:
the me i want the world to see?
do you see the love i have to give
but cannot give myself?
or do you see what you want to see
the rapturous me of yesterday
who you hold onto fiercely?
maybe you see me
for who i truly am (at present)
someone i can’t recognize
when looking in the mirror
no matter who you see
the way you look at me
with endless love, boundless affection
inexplicable understanding
is all that matters in this moment
you see the best parts of me
(and extend forgiveness for the worst)
you make me want to be
the me i know i can be
the very best version of me
all because of the way
you look across the table

--

--

Alex Hanna
P.S. I Love You

Perpetual poet, technologist, all around curious person. Sharing his truth one word at a time.