Growing into Love

chaitali gawade
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readOct 27, 2018
“Close-up of wilting rose flowers” by Silvestri Matteo on Unsplash

your light didn’t dazzle me

it engulfed stealthily and then

suddenly I was bathing

in its glory

your smiles weren’t

special, until I learned what

they had cost you

your love wasn’t

important, until I felt

the absence of it

I was too wrapped up in me

to see the bends and creases in you

it was a gentle growing

into love and

I was a child flinging it

like pebbles in a pond

only seeing the ripples not

the depths the

stones sank into.

Your words were noise

until they became a symphony

I couldn’t erase from my lips

Your touch was an

everyday occurrence

like the sun rising at horizons

until it wasn’t anymore

sunk somewhere deep

beneath the ocean floor

With you my cries were

of a child with a broken doll

without you, they’re the silent

grief of a woman

it’s not you that lies

so still and calm

amidst mourners, you were

never at that ease in life.

--

--

chaitali gawade
P.S. I Love You

A dreamer who lives in the fictional world of her creations and others whenever she can get away from real life. http://chaitaligawade.com/