His Heart So Still And Steady

Poetry Sunday

Aoife Chaney
P.S. I Love You
1 min readJan 31, 2021

--

Image: Unsplash

i’m standing like a soldier on the edge of wars unknown
and it thrills me, and it bends me
into some unholy form
and I don’t know if this war will be my ending or my start
in this war, unlike the others
my opponent is my heart

and my heart sits big and burning
playing practice on my chest
and i don’t think i can beat it
beating is what it does best
so i breathe in deep, and weep
and force a smile across my eyes
and remember i’m a soldier
and i came to win this fight

then suddenly, beside me
is my armour in the form
of the very love that led me to this battlefield alone
he is of this fight, and is it
and we’ll fight it now as one
if battle scarred, if war torn
we will fight til’ we have won

but the battlefield soon glitters
with a thing that is not blood
it is peace and it is pleasure
it’s the thing we call first love
and my heart knows not this feeling
it beats heavy like a drum
til’ his heart, so still and steady
stills the beating of my own

--

--

Aoife Chaney
P.S. I Love You

Putting pen to paper in an attempt to understand the unknown adventure that is this colorfully chaotic life