HOME

N. Diana
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readNov 25, 2017

--

[1]

Our giant wooden box.

The walls, always eavesdropping on us,

stole away the fairy tales you told me.

The floor, which kept my childhood footsteps,

the roof, storing the rust of joy and sorrow.

How much I miss — home.

[2]

A place where prayer has never ceased sounding

and nostalgia is always fulfilled.

When there is no other place I can readily go,

a doorway there is always open.

[3]

There is a hole in the roof of our home

You told me that is fine.

I shall soon know how to be happy,

peeping at the full moon through that hole

Or feeling enjoyment, receiving the drops

of the December rain.

West Borneo, 2012

RUMAH

[1]

Kotak papan raksasa kita.

Dinding-dinding yang selalu menguping, mencuri dengar dongengmu untukku.

Lantai yang selalu menyimpan derap langkah masa kecil.

Pun atap yang menyimpan karat suka duka.

Betapa aku rindu: pulang.

[2]

Tempat di mana doa tak pernah berhenti terdengar dan rindu selalu purna.

Dan ketika tak ada lagi tempat bisa kutuju, pintu di sana selalu terbuka.

[3]

Ada sebuah celah di atap rumah kita.

Kau bilang padaku, itu tak mengapa.

Nanti aku akan tahu bagaimana caranya bahagia; mengintip purnama melalui celah itu atau merasakan keasyikan menadah tetes hujan bulan Desember.

West Borneo, 2012

Rumah (Home) is one of poetry in my first book “Lelaki di Biara”. I appreciate Michael Linden who helped me to translate this poetry to English.

If you like this poetry and want to support me to keep write here, please click the 👏 button. I also write on my new born website, facebook page and instagram, feel free to visit me there.

--

--

N. Diana
P.S. I Love You

Author of “Lelaki di Biara” and “Terbuang dari Eden”. Based in Bali. Follow me on Instagram [at]diannafirefly :)