How To Be a Father… (continued)

Ernio Hernandez
P.S. I Love You
Published in
4 min readJun 11, 2018

--

These, again, are for me. Some exclusions may apply.

Two years ago (when my kid was 2) I wrote some notes for myself. Whatever I thought I knew about being a dad. Well, guess what… things change. (Hopefully your underwear too. Please stop putting off the laundry.)

Now that this kid is a little older, here’s a refresher course. Or really… an entirely new syllabus. Who are we kidding?!

In whatever order:

Always bring snacks. This has gotten easier with her palate expanding. But it can never hurt to take along a fruit or some goldfish to keep hangry at bay.

Breathe. Still applies. Still do it. Even more.

Potty all the time. Bask in the glory of never changing a diaper again! But potty is often the last thing on her mind, so be sure she went recently or have her just go.

Use your words. Her vocabulary is still growing, but it’s big enough to tell you what’s wrong or what she’s feeling. Encourage the verbal communication. And, same goes for you.

--

--