How to Identify Safe People

When your track record isn’t good

Matilda Fairholm
P.S. I Love You

--

Image by 5688709 on Pixabay

It’s an unfortunate truth that people hurt people. We are all capable of inflicting pain, and sometimes we do. The difference though is that healthy people who occasionally hurt people feel genuine remorse and a strong desire to make amends.

Not so with toxic people. These people inflict pain on others because of their own issues, their own insecurity. Their own lack of certainty of their place in the world

I spent 24 years with one of these people. He was an unsafe person. Now my life is completely different. My now-husband is kind, gentle and attentive. He’s not perfect but neither am I.

From time to time we hurt each other, it’s rare though. Whatever happens, I feel safe with him. Because he is a safe person.

I am very fortunate. After being conditioned through high school bullying to accept poor treatment I ended up trapped in an abusive marriage.

I have had the privilege of being married to a safe person for over three years. He has astounded me with his love and compassion for me and for others. I have watched hurting people trust him with their pain. I have been inspired by this man who challenges me to overcome my past, take my eyes off my own pain and use the strength that my scars have given me to make a…

--

--

Matilda Fairholm
P.S. I Love You

Writing to rescue others from the devastation of domestic abuse, and learning to live better. https://matildafairholm.medium.com/membership