Photo by Anna Kolosyuk on Unsplash

I am Dearly Loved

Steve Frank
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readMar 31, 2018

--

I am ordinary.
I disappear in a crowd.
I am unimpressive.
Unexceptional.
Yet…

I am dearly loved.

My past is not clean.
Not pretty.
I’ve been unkind.
Unhelpful.
Self-centered.
Selfish.
Yet…

I am dearly loved.

Sometimes I try hard,
ㅤand still I fail.
Sometimes I don’t try,
ㅤfor fear I’ll fail.
Just wanting,
ㅤhoping,
To get by.
Yet…

I am dearly loved.

I am unknown.
Often unseen.
I remain hidden,
ㅤnot showing my true self.
Yet…

I am dearly loved.

I am uncertain…
Of what to do.
Where to go.
Why I’m here.
Yet…

I am dearly loved.

For it is not what I do.
It is not how I look.
It is not where I’m from.

Instead, it is you.

Because of who you are…
Because of what you did for me…
Because of who I am to you…
That…

I am dearly loved.

--

--

Steve Frank
P.S. I Love You

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.