I too do miss

poetry sunday

Lena Buarque
P.S. I Love You
May 16, 2021

--

Photo by Erastus McCart on Unsplash

I wanted to be succinct and
Draw out
In as few as possible sentences
All the lingering breaths and sighs
Left fragmented by the waves of the Atlantic
A muffled-into-deftness ache that stretched
Itself thin until the point of non-existence
As it tried so nobly to boil up to the surface
The scream: I too do miss!
The tastes, the smells, the warmth of
My mother and her land
But then the craving passed
The tide’s changed
The embryonic words ebbed until
They reached their breaking
point

The poem that could have been, was not

© Lena Buarque 2021

--

--

Lena Buarque
P.S. I Love You

Brazilian writer of fiction, poetry and essays | Creative Writing MA | Classics BA | Marketing Analytics whizz |Commended by Bristol Short Story Prize 2019