What Love Really Is

Carl
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2017

I’ve met this woman
She has the kindness and sense of duty
And I thought to myself “She’s the One!”
But I was too naive to see
That this person right in front of me
Was someone greater than herself

She was the One in her own little ways
And I was the man who’ve fallen
Fallen to my own demise

I’ve come to understand what Love really is
It’s not about giving flowers, chocolates and expensive things
Nor kissing and making any physical interactions with one another

It’s about waiting for the right timing with the uncertainty that it even exists
It’s about respecting what she needs even if it’s not you
It’s about giving her the freedom to choose even if you’re not in her options

Love isn’t about what you want to happen
Rather it is the choice you make for the person that you really love
A choice to stay if she needs you and a choice to leave even if it damages you

The thing about Love is its uncertainty
True Love doesn’t always mean happy endings or great beginnings
True Love is the unending affection for a person despite all its uncertainties
It’s about the courage to let go of her hands while giving her your heart

Love is simply tackling life with or without her in it
But knowing where your heart really lies

--

--