Luna Eclipsed

A love letter to the patriarchy

Victoria Bohley
P.S. I Love You
2 min readJan 28, 2018

--

Astral Body by Thomas Dodd

I am the pretty face, the curves,
the batting eyelashes,
the siren that sings you to shipwreck.

I am the mother, the nurturer,
the one who tucks you in at night,
the one who kisses away your tears.

I am the goddess you worship,
the one you put up on a pedestal,
the one you most fear and desire.

I am the one you control,
the one you lock away,
the one who is there to serve you.

I am the one who takes your anger and your fear,
And holds them within the bruises you inflict,
Upon my mind, body, and soul.

I am the one who must forget herself,
who must be perfect,
who must be what you most desire.

I am the one who sheds silent tears,
Not knowing why I cry,
Not seeing the prison I am in.

I am the one who endures pain,
Both yours and mine,
And who must bear this silently.

I am the the one who loves you,
Who gives everything,
All to you.

I am the one who needs you,
To wake up,
And see who I really am.

I am the one who needs your strength,
And your courage,
To open your own heart.

I am the one who needs you,
To be humble and forgiving,
Of your own terrible mistakes.

I am the one who is your mirror,
Your greatest teacher,
Your path to self awareness.

I am the softness you need,
The darkness to your light,
The chaos to your structure and order.

Shine your light upon me,
Let me reflect back to you,
The beauty of your true Self.

Set yourself free from the shackles,
You put yourself in,
When you imprisoned me.

Embrace me as I am,
Give me the freedom I need,
And you will receive my greatest gifts.

Love, understanding, forgiveness,
I am all of these things,
And so much more.

I am Yin,
I am feminine,
I am woman.

--

--

Victoria Bohley
P.S. I Love You

American expat lost in Sweden, writer, poet, student of life, disciple of love