Melting My Heart

Beverley J. Hall
P.S. I Love You
Published in
Oct 25, 2020
Image: Roegger (Pixabay)

The heart that I sought to protect,
Wrapped up carefully to deflect
the danger posed by melting.
Never exposed to such a setting
It keeps its core frozen,
hidden from that fearful emotion.

Now, I realise my mistake.
The sense of it crack and break.
The ice saving my heart,
Melting and falling apart,
laying exposed the bare inner,
revealing the weakness of this sinner.

You were supposed to be my fun.
Instead, you somehow became my someone.
You were my chance to pretend,
allowing me to descend
and open the door to my soul,
carefree and oblivious to the toll.

Now, I lie in the calm of your arms,
Protected from the swirling emotional storms.
The smell of you envelops me,
And I am finally free.
Free of the past,
Home at last.

The frozen heart shielded me,
like an ancient oak tree.
Roots so deep,
Now I fall asleep,
In the arms so secure.
Feelings far too premature,

For now, I must face what I cannot say,
The desire to never move and stay.

In the arms that melted my heart.

In the arms that signal a start.

Yet, the words I want to say,
Come with a price I cannot pay.
The fear creeps in,
Safe in the knowledge they will win.
The words refuse to leave,
The web they weave.

You were worth my heart melting,
I just can’t bring my mouth to saying…

I love you.
I need you.
I am yours.

--

--

Beverley J. Hall
P.S. I Love You

Writer of Fantasy, dreamer, dweller of fantastical worlds, cat-lover, massive user of post-it notes.