Moments

Jayne Davis
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readNov 14, 2017

Night follows day, sorrow follows joy.

Opposites blend at dawn and dusk,

Separate, grief denying happiness,

Leaving me an empty husk.

Light follows darkness, grief will fade,

Even if night lasts years.

Endless night, it often seems,

Washed by frequent tears.

The sun can pierce storm-darkened skies,

Can shine beneath the clouds that loom.

Trees are brightened, flowers glow,

Small pools of joy amid the gloom.

Like fireflies glowing in the night,

Or islands in a sea of tears,

Tiny moments of content

Start to banish lonely fears.

There is enchantment in little things,

Rainbows, birds, and flowers after frost,

Even though they can’t be shared

With my love, the one I’ve lost.

I store the treasures each day sends,

Visions of beauty and moments of fun.

When it’s dark I bring them out,

To help my wait for the Sun.

--

--