My Addiction

Sarah Beth Wright
P.S. I Love You
Published in
3 min readMar 12, 2018

Is it as bad as theirs

Macleans.ca

Addiction: the state of being enslaved to a habit or practice or to something that is psychologically or physically habit-forming

In the past few years, I have been a cheerleader for the broken. The addicts. The friends without friends. I try my hardest to remember that every person has a story that has led them to where they are today. I am made of flesh, and I fail, however just recently it has been shown to me where my failure stands out. The outcome of this affects me daily.

As I pulled the van full of kids into Sonic, as I do daily. One of kiddos asked, “Why do you always go to Sonic?” A guilty laugh awkwardly stuttered out of my mouth. “I really like my Diet Coke,” I stated, “It’s like an add……” I stopped myself from using the word because I knew it was not appropriate to say in front of all the kids listening. As we drove home, the thoughts of the judgement I had towards some recently that are connected to us was eating at me.

Y’all addiction is addiction. Almost all of us have addictions of some kinds. The majority of us are lucky that our addictions do not result in judgment and stigmas used against us.

As petty as my addiction may sound, it is real. People that deal with food addiction know the truth behind the struggles. Is it a choice? Of course it is, however getting through the choices that result in are positive outcome are difficult.

Most drug addicts try to keep their usage a secret — for their own security. Do they want to continue putting toxins in their body that destroy them? Not usually. Do we easily judge them for not quitting — many people do.

Do I keep my food addiction a secret? I do my best. I don’t know of anyone that does not know I drink Diet Coke, however, I can easily shove snacks in my purse and eat when I choose. Grab a snack on the way home, and then eat dinner. Which leads to the toxins we put in our body. Dominos knows me by name. Is that good for my body? My health? My dad passed of stomach cancer. What does this say for my future.

With everything stated, you would think it is common sense to take the step to do this differently. The thing is, I have. Many times, and then I “relapse.” I am back at square one.

If the percentages of obesity in the South were not so high, I would feel alone in this, however I know there are many others out there experiencing the same thing.

We just have to remember, when we are feeding our addiction, the person feeding their own has many commonalities.

--

--

Sarah Beth Wright
P.S. I Love You

Boymom. Grateful for Grace. Heart for equality. Hope for understanding and peace. I am enough.