My Favorite Song

toniawrites
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readFeb 16, 2019
Photo by John Silliman on Unsplash

The lake is a mirror of the cloudy late summer sky. We’re alone on the pier, wrapped up in a warm but scratchy blanket. You dip your toes in the water, causing tiny ripples. A cold breeze messes up your long brown hair.

“I’m gonna miss you.”

Why couldn’t I keep my mouth shut?

You turn your head to face me, but all you give me is a crooked smile. The smile that made me fall for you in the first place.

It was supposed to be a summer fling.

Stupid me.

“I never asked you about your favorite song.”

You frown. “No?”

I lay back, staring at the sky. If only we had more time.

You rest your head on my chest, your ear right above my heart. “This. This is my favorite song.”

Did you hear my heart just skip a beat?

“I’ll miss you too by the way.”

I look at you, taking in your tanned skin, the cute freckles on your cheeks, the thick eyelashes. My lips are on the tip of your nose before they press on yours, our kiss soft as the fading light.

“I’m gonna write a song about you,” I say.

You smile again, and summer is back for a few seconds. “Make it a happy one.”

--

--

toniawrites
P.S. I Love You

(YA) writer, dreamer, dork - loves the whimsical and bittersweet with a pinch of humor