My Lonely New Year’s Eve Party Will Consist of Sadness, Hope, and Life-changing Gratitude

Valuable lessons I’ve learned from COVID about tragedy and new beginnings

Dawn Bevier
P.S. I Love You

--

Image by Free-Photos on Pixabay

For almost a year, we’ve lived in fear. We’ve locked ourselves away from those people and things that give us both profound joy and simple pleasure. We’ve lost hope. And in our darkest hours, we’ve told ourselves the world will never again be the beautiful and exciting place it was.

But now, if you’re like me, you feel the first gentle ruffling of your hair from the wings of hope drawing nearer and nearer, and it feels so damn good that your heart wants to burst with joy.

I recently read a story about the arrival of the COVID vaccine to Boston Medical Center. It describes the reaction of the hospital’s health care workers, who performed a pre-rehearsed dance routine outside of the hospital while some of their colleagues prepared to be injected with a life-changing vaccine.

And while many excitedly say that soon this vaccine will give them their lives back, I say different words. I say this vaccine will give me a new life. I say that never again will I be the person I was before this pandemic stormed into my life. I will be a better person. Here’s how.

I will not take the…

--

--

Dawn Bevier
P.S. I Love You

I am a teacher, thinker, learner, and writer. You can reach me at dawn.bevier@yahoo.com