My Mother Left Me to Enter Witness Protection

A part of me was relieved.

Danielle Dahl, MSML
P.S. I Love You

--

Photo by Free To Use Sounds on Unsplash

My mother entered the Federal Witness Protection Program the summer I turned 15. The incidents that led up to this Lifetime movie moment weren’t my mother’s first battles with the law or even the first time she went away for a while. Rather, it was the first time she ever admitted the truth: she wouldn’t be coming back, and I couldn’t go with her.

I think some tiny part of me was relieved to hear these words. It had been roughly 11 years of broken promises such as:

I’m going to get better.

Soon, I will get a house.

It was time to give up the ghost.

I couldn’t admit it then, but I was tired of the false hope. Pretending that someday I would be normal was exhausting.

The moment she said, “Witness protection,” I knew I would never be normal. The hand had already been dealt, and it was a losing one at that. It hadn’t been normal for a child of 8 years old to learn to play pool in a biker hall from a man named Dog and his friends. It wasn’t standard custodial practice for a grandparent to file a kidnapping claim and have the FBI investigate.

It was reasonably abnormal for people to get divorced in the late 80’s. Nevermind the fact that neither parent…

--

--

Danielle Dahl, MSML
P.S. I Love You

Weaver of words. Our stories of trauma can help others create change. Leadership professional. Co-Founder at resilientstories.com