Needed or Wanted

Beverley J. Hall
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readJun 23, 2019
Image: Unsplash

You were the unexpected taunt,
the one that I never knew I hunted for.
But you weren’t a want,
you were a need rampaging through me like a war.

The fury of battling emotions,
swirling inside of me,
as I struggle to accept this absolution,
that you see me as only I could see.

Why does your safety create such fear,
when it must be what I sought.
Yet, the calm you bring when you are near,
became more important than I thought.

The words I want to say,
the words that slip out unawares,
Cause me painful dismay,
as they define my cares.

Why didn’t I see it coming?
Why did I leave myself so open?
How did I end up filled with such dreaming,
that you have awoken?

Yet, I cannot find the strength,
to open my heart to all you offer.
Instead, I keep you at arm’s length,
afraid of what I will suffer.

Risk it all for a love I never knew existed,
or hide back in my little shell.
I wish my heart had opened,
to the emotions I cannot quell.

I do want you really,
deep in my soul,
so painfully,
naturally,
and yet so impossibly.

With the heart you stole.

--

--

Beverley J. Hall
P.S. I Love You

Writer of Fantasy, dreamer, dweller of fantastical worlds, cat-lover, massive user of post-it notes.