Sivitri Delphia | aka Natalie W.
P.S. I Love You
Published in
4 min readApr 1, 2018

--

Notes From the Other Side of the Bed

Image: sivitrimultimedia.com

I slept on the other side of the bed last night

Laying claim to it seemed appropriate

As you would not be returning.

I stirred every couple of hours -

The stinging realization of losing you

Each time I rose to the surface of consciousness

An instant pang of anxiety

An emptiness in my belly

An ache in my heart.

.

In the morning when I awoke

The twinge in my side rudely reminded me of my aloneness

As I unwound from the fetal position I’d held all night.

My eyes, teary once more

Greeted me with a salty swollen silence.

Though something beckoned to me from beyond the emotion

Beyond the tide of sadness

Forbidding me to lose myself

Urging me to see through the sorrow

For out of it was to come an unfurling of vicissitude

A kaleidoscope of motion.

It was only in the memory of that which had passed

Did my heart feel weighted down

With a breath

The wild undulation of joy and sorrow that was

Softly rippled into a calm hush within

And I could see myself as one

With the glassy surface of a lake

With trees and clouds and birds reflected inward

The water seeping downward

Gently eroding

Smoothing out the prickly edges

Nature taking its course

Until it made its way to the core

Penetrating the shell

That had been waiting for nourishment

For eons it had patiently endured

Unstirred by the hands of time

Sure of what would eventually come.

.

Codes awaken

One cell at a time

They turn to the light

And blink with immaculate awareness

Wise in their innocence

Trusting that this time

The fullness of love would find it.

.

My body uncurls

Slowly and gently I stretch.

It’s a courageous move

To extend my arms away from my heart

To expose it to the blinding luminescence of day.

Legs unfold

Feet find their way to the floor

From the other side of the bed

Which seems so far away

- Like you always felt

Even as you lay there next to me -

I’d marvel at you; the indentation in your upper lip

The little grey hairs in your beard

Your dark eyelashes

Your profile

As you lay there

Motionless on your island

Like a corpse

And I would respect you in you sovereign stillness

Every last hair on your body

Even though I wanted to hold your hand

Rest my head on your shoulder.

Your beautiful skin, like silk

- You would say mine was like moonlight

And you were my sun -

Then finally you would turn and smile

And sometimes you would say you were glad to wake up next to me

But only sometimes

And sometimes it felt sweet

And sometimes it felt bitter,

Feeling your denial -

A veiled sadness you held beneath hour ribs

The stubborn anxiety you tried to conceal under your skin.

.

I sensed every last fragment

Feigning detachment

From the effect it had on me

But it seeped into the cracks

And lay there

Carving a chasm between us

And I would remain patient

Hopeful

Gracious

Compassionate

In constant adoration of your endearing heart

Content to have you near enough

But not as close as I desired

Not pushing

Not demanding more; time, sex, depth, surprise

Accommodating your practicality

Your sensibility

Your schedule

Your hesitation

And your realism which sometimes inspired and fascinated

And at times frustrated

Whilst I dreamed of romance and enchantment

And swimming deeper than your ocean would allow.

.

And often you would delight and amaze in your essence

I remember chocolate ice cream

And kisses on hills at sunset

Your sweet nakedness

Moments of innocent willingness to dissolve your fear

And just be.

There I found an openness allowing closeness

Pure and real

And I treasured you

As oftentimes I felt you treasured me.

I would ignite and delight in you

And your mention of the future…

Of us

I took it all to heart

And I thought you did too.

.

And now I take it all apart

And my life and my body is only mine once more.

Just like yours always only was

And the surrounding mood in my room and all around me

Is flat

And still

And dull

And quiet

The space behind my eyes with memories

And a twinge of longing

Recalling what I gave

And wanted

And waited for

The faith that you would come around

And take my hand

And tell me you were in;

Not in too deep or halfway in

But into me, us, together

As you were in our beginning

And I softened,

Opened after being closed for so long

Your sweetness and kindness

A welcome relief from the harsh neglect of times past.

.

But beginnings dissolve away

Vacillate

Open and close

Shift from light to dark

Fear and doubt preventing the truth of what could be

No way to see who we were without it

Leaving me alone, confused, resigned.

.

I hold my breath before the next wave

Anticipate my solitude once more

Of which I am most accustomed;

Strong, self-sufficient

An expert like I’ve always been

The moments that were filled with you

And my excitement of holding you near

Emptied

For me to consider anew.

.

And now it is night again.

I bow to our coming together

And our falling away

And to you

And all you were and wanted to be

Just for me

I beheld your efforts

Your care and tenderness

Your steadfastness

Your willingness to help and support

To soothe and heal

It was heartwarming and kind

Rare and new to me.

.

My tears flow as much for our joy

As they do for the pain of wanting more time

To deepen, learn and grow with you.

I am grateful for knowing your generous heart

Your brilliance

Your essence.

.

Good night, dear man, from my side of the bed.

--

--

Sivitri Delphia | aka Natalie W.
P.S. I Love You

Writing from my soul; I seek truth on the page and share my heart.