O Dog.

Mattias Gullgren
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readApr 28, 2019
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

O Dog, I was only eight or so when my father told me
it is up to me to choose I should know.
I Didn’t understand until we arrived
Six little puppies all lined up in a row.

O Dog, I had the choice of all
the fast, the big, and the strong among some.
you were the weakest and smallest
but only you came when I said come.

O Dog, we played so much and walked so far
we ran for hours and slept together.
Time passed we grew up so fast
we were really two birds of a feather.

O Dog, mother and father are arguing again
they are getting a divorce but I’m sure we’ll be okay!
I cannot play now because I am scared
and a walk will have to wait for another day.

O Dog, you live with mother now
I’ll come over and walk you as often I can.
But I have work and responsibilities now
I can’t play like before because now I’m a man.

O Dog, Mother is sick I don’t know why.
the doctors say nothing what should I do!
I have to be by her side and can’t go for a walk
there is a tree outside, that’s where you’ll poo!

O Dog, Mother is gone now
it was all in vain.
you can live with my aunt cause I don’t care so
stop putting your head in my lap it won’t help my pain!

O Dog, three years have passed and you’re old and gray but
even still you want to play.
but here I am to visit my aunt
I’m busy now so put down that ball and go away.

O Dog… I got a call today.
They say you passed away.

O Dog… Last few years you were always there
In photos and facebook it was really a bother.
Why it hurts so now when you are gone I think I know
because you were always there just like a brother.

O dog… I haven’t seen you for years and then you leave
you reminded me of mother so I dumped you and ran away.
Now the tears won’t stop falling
and all I can do is miss you every day.

O Dog… I love you so.

--

--