Oh, I Was But A Wounded Beast

Jason Versey
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readNov 21, 2017

Oh, I was but a wounded Beast, Teeth gnashing from a brutal feast.

Wolfing down with others; consuming every bite, Eating every poison laid before my sight.

I dined upon Iniquity’s endless shelf, Blindly feeding, greedily…on myself.

Oh, I was but a wounded Beast, Expiring with every taste of yeast,

Belly puffed and sour with death, A haunting shutter with every breath. Full of nothing but vanity, Dipped in pleasure and tragedy.

Oh, I was but a wounded Beast, As the West is far from the East, I charted the lust of mine own eyes, Thus, in my folly…I was sure to die.

My soul knew nothing of sacrifice, Instead I danced with every vice.

Oh, I was but a wounded Beast, You found me broken and utterly fleeced.

Naked, abandoned and truly alone, You nurtured the wounds to which you’ve sewn.

You gave me bread, You sang me a song; And touched my wounds with a loving balm.

Oh, I was but a wounded Beast, Yet, You taught me wisdom’s leash.

So I walk with YOU…dawn through night, Quenched by your fount of love and light.

No darkness, no hate, not a selfish bone…Can feed this fiend that You’ve atoned.

Oh, I was but a wounded Beast!

~Jason Neville Versey

© 2017 Jason N. Versey

--

--

Jason Versey
P.S. I Love You

Husband, father, spiritually minded writer and author