Our Favorite Stories of 2020

P.S. I Love You’s Year in Review

P.S. I Love You
P.S. I Love You

Newsletter

3 min readDec 22, 2020

--

Photo by Markus Winkler from Pexels

2020has been memorable for mostly the wrong reasons. But so, too, has it been memorable for the writing it inspired. We were lucky enough to publish some of it at P.S. I Love You. Below are a few of our favorites. From vivid, hair-raising fiction to disarming reflections on race. From sumptuous poetry to the sharp personal essay. We’re delighted with it all.

We hope that, as you celebrate what is sure to be a strange holiday, you can cuddle up with these and remind yourself, among other things, that contrary to how it might seem, you’re not alone.

Thank you to everyone who helped us get through this messed up year — the writers who provided us with stories like the ones below, and the readers who supported the pub.

One love,

Scott, Tre, Kay & Dan

I. Can’t. Breathe. D Abboh

Depression Is A Cruel Thief In The Night Felicia C. Sullivan

The Lost Children of Crack Addicts Carl L Lane

This Black Skin… Kensho Keith

Mama’s Child Stacy Smith

In The Fight Against Anti-Black Racism, Aspiring Allies Are Not The Enemy — White Supremacy Is Nicole Jarbo

Why I Don’t Wear Bikinis Addie Page

Why Men Send Dick Pics Kerry Quinn

Every Indian Aunty Is Sima Aunty Vishnu*s Virtues

Underachiever. Stephen M. Tomic

My Son Has A Fever, And For The First Time, I’m Scared Kay Bolden

Thunder Moon Elizabeth Helmich

The Secret Language of Mother Love Brian Fehler

I Read My Boyfriend’s Messages While He Slept Eshal Rose

The Silent Relationship Killer You Never See Coming Barry Davret

The Mid-Life Manifesto John Gorman

Quiet Power Still Counts as Power Todd Brison

I’m on a Mission to Declutter, but One Thing Will Always Stay Andrew Knott

Listen… Real Love is Messy, Annoying, and Awesome, Okay? Benjamin Sledge

Give Away Some Light in Your Darkest Moments Kristi Keller

How To Actually Show Love To A “Quality Time” Person Kris Gage

The Art of a Graceful Tumble Luke Brennan

What It Means to Me to Let My Wife Shave “My Boys” Kevin Swan

P.S. I Love Movies: Revisiting “You’ve Got Mail” Taylor Williams

Honoring the Waning Years of Our Fertility Yael Wolfe

What I Hope To Learn From This Horrible, No-Good Year Dan Moore

A Time of Year to Connect With Beloved Old Friends John Emmerling

How to Love a Monster Carlyn Beccia

Grimmest Blessings Barry Dawson IV

The Work Left To Be Done Javon Goard

An Ex At The Wedding Scott Muska

What I Learned Sitting on A Rock for 100 Hours with A 5-Year-Old Michael Thompson

The Big Red Hat & All The Little Hurts Felicia C. Sullivan

Yes, Blended Families Can Work Edwina Owens Elliott

Why I Love Goodbyes Brian Fehler

Phara Tre L. Loadholt

Why I Won’t Stand Out as a Jew Anymore Ruchama King Feuerman

Dedication to George Floyd, My Big Brother Genius Turner

16 Uncomfortable Acts People Try to Avoid, But That Actually Make Your Life Better Brianna Wiest / Thought Catalog

“If He Wanted to, He Would” Is Still Good Advice Megan Boley

How My Dad Taught Me Love of Place Ashley M. Kim

My Final Contingency on Love Tracy Mulholland

The 6th Love Language: Distance Jessica Wildfire

Dispatches From A Woman On The Run Felicia C. Sullivan

Women Settle for Jerks for One Simple Reason Jessica Wildfire

You’re Not Crazy — You’re Being Breadcrumbed Chris Marchie

How to Make Someone Feel Good in Your Presence Molly Godfrey

How 20-Year Marriages End Carrie Ashfield

The 5 Qualities of Emotionally Mature People Niklas Göke

This Is What Happens When You Stop Talking About Yourself in Conversations Tim Denning

10 Red Flags In Men To Avoid Shannon Ashley

My Abusively Sexless Relationship Laura Rosell

“I Love You, but I’m Not in Love with You Anymore” is a Lie Niki Marinis

Go. Be With Your Dying Person. Dr. Audrey

Maybe Not a Narcissist Crystal Jackson

There were many, many more pieces we wish we could have highlighted. We’ll be showcasing some on our homepage through the new year, as well as sharing them on Twitter. Give us a follow to stay up to date. And make sure to follow all the writers above, too. They’re fantastic.

See you next year!

--

--