Party Animal

Esther Mathew
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readOct 4, 2018
Original watercolor painting, “Party Animal”. Inspiration taken from “Spring” by the incredible Marc Allante.

You think that I’m a party animal,
just ‘cause I am merely affable.
That open space
gets on my case
could not be farther from the truth.

In the end, I’m just a youth;
I love when deejays hit the booth.
I take the chance
to have a dance,
but leave when the room turns to blue.

I know that feeling is my cue
to take a break just for a few,
to hit rewind
and go unwind
in my room in solitude.

I can have an attitude
when I slowly start to brood,
‘Am I missing out,
falling from the route
that’s travelled well save for a few?’

Balloons, yes, they are pretty, too,
and make mem’ries, as fun does do.
But once they pop,
time does not stop,
and seconds, they remain unchangeable.

Though some things are not quite tangible,
‘no,’ I’m not a party animal.
There’s nothing wrong
in singing a song
that no one knows,

no one but you.

--

--