Pebbles and Stones

Daisy Nguyen
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readOct 5, 2017
Asilomar Bach, Pacific Grove, CA 08–2017

Did you know,

Fear is a little pebble

That hides in a pocket

Of the heart?

Taking up space

That should be reserved

For the sweetest love?

The pebble,

Can not stay-

Of its own accord.

Instead requires

Active participation

Of its holding.

The longer its held,

The bigger it grows,

From a small fear/pebble,

Into a larger stone.

And there,

It feels heavy-

Slowing the beat

of this life…

Until the only thing

That can be felt-

Is fear –

A stuck-i-ness…

A stunted heart,

cannot grow-

or heal,

Only tries to thump

To survive…

But all its doing –

Is getting harder-

And smaller-

And tighter-

Inside.

Then all you feel,

is a cold, hard-

Stone.

You’re left wondering

Where the rhythm-

and the life and

the joy is?

Where is the flow

That knows

Where to go?

When I said-

“I love you

– with all my heart,”

I lied. I cried.

For the pebble-

Was there-

Inside.

Taking up space,

Meant for greatness-

I pondered why?

Had I held onto that

fear so tightly?

It was because

in case…

I braced,

For impact,

Instead,

It shadowed,

Every.

Moment.

And when there

Was no longer room

For my love and the stone,

I had to choose.

To love

or to be stoned-

To death.

I let go of

that fear,

this morning.

It was beautiful,

Like an anchor,

Abandoned,

Then I was left

To float away,

Without a course to

Return,

To the person I

Once was, with-

Pebbles and

Stones.

I now drift on,

Letting love lift me,

To the heavens,

Into paradise,

Living in bliss.

Without those fears,

Or doubts,

Cast or held

Without these weights…

Where can we go,

What can we achieve?

Up, up, and away?

Greatness awaits.

–Daisy Nguyen

Author.Writer. Poet.

In search of the deep end.

--

--

Daisy Nguyen
P.S. I Love You

Author. Writer. Poet. Imperfect. Every word I write, is either a whisper, a whimper or a scream and never anything in between. http://daisynguyen.com