Skin

Erica Hu
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readMay 26, 2019
picture credit: Erica Hu

Today
The first rays of spring
did not make me
a better person.

So I dug a hole in my backyard
and tossed down my skin.

This is my season to grow​;
I will love the little things,
and kiss its different faces,
this world.

Yesterday
I kill myself daily
to put on a display.
I toss the dice a thousand times
to see the satisfaction
in its eyes,
the world.
Still all I feel
when I lie in bed
is a hollow shell.

I live life
the way puzzles
pinpoint to a crime wall.
One thing justifies another;
Bodyparts are dissected,
still, nothing emerges.

Thus the vaporized
conjures an array
I run down in my head
to make sense out of nothing,
just so through a glass darkly
I look a bit more lovable
than yesterday.

I’ve traversed a forest
without slowing down;
I’ve left stories half-told,
pages half-read.
The ending unveils itself
in black and white
as I sit on a stone,
waiting to be seen.
I close my eyes,
And even the void I could not see.

--

--

Erica Hu
P.S. I Love You

writing: ericahu.substack.com (no longer active here) Captivated by the littler things.