Somewhere in between

J.C.
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readNov 17, 2019
Photo by Tim Goedhart on Unsplash

Somewhere in between
your brilliant brown eyes and perfect smile
I got lost in a dream of possibilities
Lost in a make-believe world
where you are mine and I am yours,
walking together hand in hand
on the path to a happy ending.

Somewhere in between excuses and lies,
reality crept in and woke me up.
I gave you my heart
and your ego gladly received it.
I was left waiting and wondering,
If the words that dripped from your mouth like honey were true.

Somewhere in between
getting my hopes up, and watching them fall
I realized I was running a race
where the victory ribbon was always just out of my reach.
A race you knew I would never win

Somewhere in between
feeling sad and confused,
I finally got tired of chasing you.
This time, I chased my self worth
I fought my way to the victory line
there are no more in betweens

--

--