Teaching Teenagers Work Ethics by Having a Temper Tantrum

Lessons in Effective Parenting

Abigail Carter
P.S. I Love You

--

Photo by Steinar Engeland on Unsplash

I walked in the door and my son was slumped in his seat watching a Khan Academy video. The tutor who I had hired to teach him looked exasperated and took me aside to tell me so.

Later there was a temper tantrum (not mine) where phrases like “I hate my life!” and “I’m so stupid!” were flung at me in an accusatory way.

The day before had been a similar episode with a different kid.

And so I lost it. I had my own temper tantrum. I had to walk out. I grabbed the dog and drove a few blocks to park and look at the lake. I was a failure. I hadn’t pushed hard enough, I was too lax on screen time, I hadn’t set clear enough consequences or expectations, or… I didn’t know what. Whatever it was, it was my fault.

“He” (meaning my dead husband) should be here to deal with this. “He” would know how to do Algebra and Pre-Calc. I had a good sob. And then I got a text.

“I’m hungry.”

I got mad. I was incredulous. The gall.

“So make something,” I texted, heat rising in my cheeks.

“We have no food.”

“Can you go shopping!” I screech-texted back.

--

--

Abigail Carter
P.S. I Love You

Writing about widowhood, parenting, life, grief, art, writing and publishing. #singlemom #author #memoirist #writer #widow #9/11widow #artist