That Look

Poetry Sunday

Shining Brightly
P.S. I Love You
2 min readNov 29, 2020

--

Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

Your kaleidoscope eyes smile
at something
you perceive
as beautiful.

I wonder what you’re looking at.
I mean,
I know it’s me –
My question is what you think you see.

That look projects the future.
It’s the look that screams
this
is
it!

You look at me
and see
your self
and my self,
your soul
and my soul,
together
for eternity.

That look –
It’s the look that says,
I’m illogically prepared
to do what it takes
to re-arrange my life
for this.

It’s that look,
that look,
that makes me feel like
the
most
loved
being
in
the
universe.

You look and you believe you know
Who
I
Am.

You trust your senses,
but if you close your eyes
and investigate,
you’ll find that what you think exists
is actually
not there
at all.

I’ve spent my whole life waiting for
that look.
I’ve craved
that look.
I need
that look…

but not from you.

So, what to do?

How do I reflect
that look,
when in your eyes I see
how you’ve fallen?

Crushed by your weight,
pierced by your gaze,
how do I
not
fall
too?

I breathe in,
searching beyond
the viewfinder.

I close my eyes,
exhale the universe,
and give it a spin.

--

--

Shining Brightly
P.S. I Love You

Sharing Light Through Words. Send your love letters, and I’ll send mine. (Commission-able! shinethelittlelight@gmail.com)