The Chief Wife Happiness Officer

James Evans
P.S. I Love You
Published in
14 min readJul 25, 2020

--

Original image purchased from Shutterstock

At my employer, we take surveys a couple of times each year to understand how employees are feeling about the company, their manager and their role. These results are consolidated into a Workplace Happiness Index (WHI) and each manager is given a score. As my wife and I both work for the same company, we joked that we should have a Wife Happiness Index (WHI) so that I track how I am performing as a husband. Taking this concept a step further and when thinking about my role in our marriage, I described it as being the Chief Wife Happiness Officer (CWHO), and that was the inspiration for writing this article.

I am not claiming to be the perfect husband or to know everything there is to know about being a great husband. Similarly, I acknowledge that every couple and relationship is different. Therefore, what works well for me and my wife may very well not work for you and your partner. However, I hope this article contains some useful concepts that might inspire you to become a Chief Wife Happiness Officer.

Top Priority

Your career, your friends, your sports team, your hobbies, your television shows and even your family should all come second to your relationship with your partner. I am very clear that my life mission is to love and care for my wife, and to make her happy every single day. If I can achieve that then I have been…

--

--

James Evans
P.S. I Love You

Singapore based writer, snowboarder, gym goer, digital artist and aspiring racing driver