The Holiday Gift (Heart to Heart)

Elaine Hamilton
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readDec 21, 2018

--

Photo by Elaine Hamilton

I thought long and hard about the perfect holiday gift to give you. What could I bring you that you don’t already have? You don't need silver or gold, you hold inside of you the greatest treasure of all.

And so, while my gift is simple, I hope that it makes you smile, and keeps you warm. When you need it in the dark of night, it will be there, and it will light your way like the sun.

First, I send you love, it’s rare in its purest form, you can carry it with you anywhere, it’s the perfect size, can easily be returned, and it can be wrapped around your heart. Keep it in a safe place, It’s fragile, so handle with care.

Photo by Steve Johnson

With that, comes the gift of peace. The kind that calms the storms of life. The knowledge that you are okay in your truths. Stand firm, and remember, shadows disappear when you turn the light on.

Photo by Tim Mossholder

And finally, the gift of joy. The kind that’s real and everlasting, that brings laughter to your eyes and makes your nose crinkle, and leaves a tiny trace across your lips. Be open to magic, because it comes in unexpected ways.

--

--

Elaine Hamilton
P.S. I Love You

Author of Mornings With Maddox, and Catnaps, Catnip and Crunchies on Amazon, Contributing Fashion & Lifestyle Writer. Connect with me on Goodreads.