The Inner Agitator

Nick G. Mason
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2018

I started running again. Not from zombies or neighborhood dogs, just for exercise.

Running used to be a habit of mine, but around the time I became enamored with philosophy and all that shit, I stopped.

My reasoning — if I could just eat right and get my mind straight, I really didn’t need anything else. Typical woo-woo thinking.

But over the past few years, I’ve been a pile of anxious misery. And now that I’m back to a regular exercise routine, I’ve realized that my body needs an avenue to burn my excess energy.

I’m a thinker. Which often causes my insides to boil and if I don’t relieve the pressure, it wreaks havoc on my system.

But let me get to the point. Even though I’ve recognized how important exercise is for my well being, I still argue with myself about why I shouldn’t do it.

Just work on the car, that’s kind of like exercise…

Today should be your rest day, you can start back tomorrow…

Mom needs help at the house, just run afterward…

I’m constantly having to ignore my inner bickering and put in the work regardless. Even during my routine.

Your legs are tightening up, you should have rested today…

You’re cramping up, you ate too much before your run…

Maybe you should just walk half the route…

The voice in my head never ends. It’s lazy and gets in the way of nearly everything I want to accomplish.

The majority of our inner dialog is bullshit. And if we bend to it’s every demand our future is bound to be filled with dreams of what could have been.

Save yourself the regret. Persist ahead and pursue the matters that are deeply important to you and you’re wellness.

Regardless of your baseless thoughts. Put you first.

--

--

Nick G. Mason
P.S. I Love You

“Muddy water is best cleared by leaving it alone” - Alan Watts