The Kids Bite the Corners of the Walls

Kristina Poghosyan
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readMar 12, 2018

The kids bite
The corners of the walls,
Eat lipstick
Like a banana,
Throw rocks on the neighbor’s dog
Because they can’t say
“Give me love.”
Then they turn 23
And sit silently
In their huge apartments
With money raining on their heads,
Act goofy with strangers,
And eat and eat
Because they can’t say
“Give me love.”
Then they hope
To be the one that got away,
Then they hope
To feel their legs when they’re running,
To chew their food as if they’re feeling,
To sweat when they’re dancing,
To never cringe when they’re hugging,
And remember
To say
“Give me love.”
But they go off
Morbidly through the night,
Listening to the ticking of the clock,
Laughing sarcastically at the poor,
Never wondering
Of what it’s like to wonder,
Never saying
“Give me love.”

--

--