The Love for Life-in Pictures

Gunjan Sharma Arora
P.S. I Love You
Published in
4 min readAug 8, 2017

We didn’t have a camera while growing up, so I have no pictures of my childhood. One is when I was an year old and other when I was 4 year old. Other than that, all memories of my childhood are in my mind, the games we played, the vacations we never took, my grandparents whom I miss but have no picture with them to look back to. I always wonder how we used to play with my parents, what were our toys like, how did we fight, have absolutely no memories of the earlier and even some later parts of my childhood. As life progresses, things change, people change, and amidst all the chaos, sometimes you search for those pure moments of love you shared once, to rekindle the lost faith, gratitude and strength.

I got my first cell phone in 2nd year of college, a plain jane camera less phone. There are actually not many pictures even from the graduation days, mostly all my friends also had simple phones. Pictures in my life actually exist from post graduation, everybody had camera phone then or a simple camera which made it easier to capture moments everywhere, in college, in hostel, on outings, on birthdays, farewells or freshers party.

I guess it was only after my marriage that I started clicking pictures and relishing them. I always liked getting clicked but I also liked clicking good moments of others, natural moments(known as candid photography now). But it is only after my son’s birth when I was on a photography spree to capture his special moments, I realized I had some skill, some creativity to plan a photoshoot, I planned my own pregnancy photoshoot and my son’s six month birthday shoot.

One of the captures of my pregnancy photoshoot
On his 6th month birthday with his granddad

Last year I bought my Nexus 5x and since then there has been no looking back. I am soon to receive my first DSLR and so much excited to extend my passion to a new level. A good picture soothes my soul, it almost feels like an accomplishment, like I have added some music to my life.

It feels so surreal to go back and revisit memories, and the assurance that I would be able to look back if and when I miss someone, that memories won’t fade and stories won’t die. My toddler won’t miss on his childhood details, and I feel so excited to just imagine his reaction when he will grow up and watch those pictures and videos! In a way I am trying to make sure that his childhood stays with him forever, the innocence , curiosity and the love of life doesn’t just fade away with time but becomes a part of his adult life through these stills. Sure he will grow up but I want him to remember how he played peeka-boo with mama and giddy-up daddy with papa!

So I need some encouragement and motivation and who to turn to than people who are artists themselves? In fact, photography is a little similar to writing, the location is the plot idea or background, the people getting clicked are characters and the pose is the scene being played out. One can carve out a whole story from a series of pictures. Pictures are visual storytellers, and everybody enjoys them regardless of age.

A couple of months back I was thinking- “I think I click good pictures, may be I should show them to the world. I am sure somebody will appreciate them.”

And hence, I joined Instagram. So far, I have shared 45 posts and gained 59 followers. Not much, but every one of them counts, even a single heart makes my day by appreciating my efforts.

Here, I am presenting to you my best 10 pictures, some were taken randomly while others were thought out.

Who else to show me the world other than you Dad!
My son and husband, having a light moment in this pristine setting
Ah the lovely flamingos! Aren’t they so beautiful, I saw them for the first time in this Philadelphia Zoo. This picture is one of my favorites, I like the tone of colors.
On our way to India, I clicked this, somewhere in the skies over Kabul. I had this intense feeling of getting down then and there, are people really able to navigate and reach such places I always wonder!
This was last month in Indianapolis, there was a thunderstorm warning in effect, my son wanted to go out so we just took a stroll around our apartment.
This was after it rained, aren’t those clouds amazing? They seem to be playing my son’s fav game of peekaboo!
July 04, 2017, Independence Day. I love the concept of fireworks here, it was such a delight to witness such spectacular fireworks, my son was quite amazed!
I love lakes, serene, beautiful, peaceful. Some people boating, some fishing, everything for everyone! With the sun blazing right in front, it turned out to be a good shot.
Llama llama kisses Mama ❤
This is another my favorite, he was an year old then and just learnt to walk. Looking over the Chicago skyline holding my hand.

Let me know if you liked these by clicking the ❤, you can explore more on my Instagram handle gunjan_sharma_arora. If you are on Instagram too, leave your account details and we can share some mutual love on Insta.

Thank you and Love

G

--

--

Gunjan Sharma Arora
P.S. I Love You

mothering a 1.5 year old, writing to learn, learning to write, attempting to bring some justice and peace to the world