The New Year’s Resolution Craze of 2021: Egg Freezing

Love on ice

Zoe Naz
P.S. I Love You

--

Photo by Anna Shvets from Pexels

“Hello?” I answer in a groggy, hungover voice.

“Hey, I’ve been thinking about you a lot today. How old are you again?” It’s my girlfriend, Vita. She’s 50 but doesn’t look a day over 30.

I look at the time. It’s 11 AM. I’ve been sleeping for 5 hours as it was a late night out dancing at some warehouse party. “You there, she asks?”

“Ya, ya, I’m here. I’m 33. Why do you ask?”

“Well, you should really think about freezing your eggs this year.” She says in a serious voice. “You don’t have a lot of time.”

“I’m not even sure I want eggs for breakfast, much less for them to be incubated and inserted inside my uterus for future child-rearing,” I respond, slightly agitated even though I know she has my best interest at heart. “And anyway,” I continue, “I thought last weekend you told me if you were to go back in time, you wouldn’t have had kids?”

“Ya, I do feel that way. I don’t think you should have kids. But I am saying it’s like an insurance policy It will free you up to have options should you decide you want kids later. Why should you settle down because your biological clock is ticking?” she asks.

--

--

Zoe Naz
P.S. I Love You

Writer | Provocative ideas on sex, relationships & culture | Lover of darkness, duality, and depth / https://www.instagram.com/edgesofzoe/