The Notebook

Or What To Do with Your Lover’s Journal

Pam Flores-Lowry
P.S. I Love You
3 min readOct 4, 2017

--

Dear Lady Etiquette of Love and Affairs County,

So… I met this guy and I saw him a couple times by now. He is a 25-year-old guitar player. He studies Literature and loves playing music. I did not know this the first time I saw him. The first time I noticed him, he was standing near the bar on a Friday night. Our conversation started early and we talked about everything. By midnight we left together to his apartment.

On the last date, I also stayed at his place, but I had classes the following morning, so I woke up in a hurry. I took a shower, inspected his bathroom, and tried to leave, but he got up. Just before I left, I had something to ask: ‘Can I have a notebook and a pen?’. I needed those things to go to class, I had to pretend I was actually taking notes. He rushed to his bedroom and came back with both. We kissed. I was fascinated. Was this the beginning of a love story? I’m a romantic. Guilty.

I called a cab, held that notebook tight in my arms. He seemed like a really good guy. Once in the taxi, I started daydreaming about a future together. Then, I opened the notebook. I saw some poetry written on the last page. I told myself I wasn’t going to read it, let’s respect his privacy.
I couldn’t keep this promise for long because, after my classes were over, I read everything. Of interest was a long journal entry about the incidents of May 25, no year. Quote:

‘I don’t know what to think of her. I really love her, but that night was too confusing. She is a really cool girl, and I saw her kissing another guy, she said she thought he was me (?) perhaps she is not so cool.’

Oh my, who was this girl? I was determined to keep reading and find out more about her.

The journal-like part was brief. After that, came a series of random notes in different pages of the notebook. Like:

‘we are not having babies!! Love you!’

Or:

‘I just took 100 dollars from the night table. Love you!!’

It must have been annoying to read:

‘Your freakin’ motorbike was not working, so I left it at the gas station, Chestnut and Orchard St. Love you!!’

Now, I was very intrigued about this relationship, but I wonder mostly why this guy has given me this notebook. Did he realize what he was doing? Did he do it on purpose? Most importantly, should I give it back to him?
Sincerely,

Confused Notebook Holder
confusednotebookholder@gmail.com

#

Dear Notebook Holder,

I am appalled by what has just happened to you. My main question would be: are you still seeing this guy?

I think the etiquette would suggest that you give the notebook back to him, after all he just lent it to you. Another question would be: Would you tell him that you read it?

Unfortunately, I can only help you with matters of etiquette, but I am sure my followers will provide insight on some of your questions. That is why I provided an online survey I have just sent to your email. If anyone is interested in helping you, please ask for the link via email confusednotebookholder@gmail.com or here is the link .

We are going to share the results in a month and please, keep in touch with us.

Sincerely,

Lady of Etiquette of Love and Affairs County
Follow me @LadyE

#ladyE #LoveandAffairsCounty #theNotebook #ConfusedNotebookHolder #CNH #etiquette #survey #love #affairs #EmailMe #EmailHer

Flores-Lowry, Pamela V. (2017) “The Notebook,” Proceedings from the Document Academy: Vol. 4 : Iss. 1 , Article 13.
Available at: http://ideaexchange.uakron.edu/docam/vol4/iss1/13

--

--

Pam Flores-Lowry
P.S. I Love You

Passion for reading, writing, baking and running.❤️