The Shell Within

C. M. Barrett
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readMay 30, 2018

If I were a turtle,

I would carry my shell outside,

A safe cave

With room for only me,

A hiding place in times of danger.

But I carry my shell within

To hide all the memories

Too tender to expose.

My shell shields me from pain

And still-remembered danger.

A child lives inside that shell,

An orphan who found safety in hiding.

She slept there,

Silent and secure,

But now she cries out for help.

She says she’s afraid to come out,

I’m afraid to go in.

We could help each other grow strong,

But the shell keeps us apart.

Dare I crack it?

Thanks for reading this. You can see other articles I’ve written here. I also welcome you to visit my web site, where you can read about my fiction.

--

--

C. M. Barrett
P.S. I Love You

Owned by cats. I write about anything that interests me, and I'm happy to report that the brain cells continue to fire with reassuring regularity.