Thou Art So Clueless

Rucha U. Karkhanis
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readJun 11, 2018
Photo by Nicole Honeywill on Unsplash

I look up and I see you smile
So beautiful you are in that moment
So I keep staring for a while
My favourite self-inflicted torment

They said addiction was bad
So I laid back on the pot
Threw away my hash
Hid my booze under the cot
All this while, if only I had a clue
That one day I’d find it in you

I wonder if you notice how my eyes crinkle
When I have you by my side
The love that I hide behind my words
And then some that I cannot hide

You scorn me with your indifference
Every single day
And yet I am drawn to you like a moth to flame
To my utter dismay

I wish I’d never met you
That you’d never shown up on my radar
For unwittingly I let you
Into my heart so far

I wonder if you do it on purpose
Or if you’re just oblivious to my pain
I choose to believe the latter
For it helps to keep me sane

You take my heart and trample on it
Scattering the pieces askew
So I patch it up with the cheapest glue
And hand it back to you

The glue is fresh everyday
The same old shop again
The shopkeeper smiles at me warily
Empathizing with my pain

Why not buy better glue, he asks
When it’s my own heart at stake
Wearing a self-deprecating smile I say
Wouldn’t it be harder for you to break?

--

--