Thoughts of You, On This Greyhound Bus

Meredith C.
P.S. I Love You
Published in
5 min readApr 6, 2018
Photo by Mirko Nicholson

I’M ON A GREYHOUND BUS FROM CHICAGO TO NASHVILLE…

Somehow, I thought a long road trip would be the perfect way to clear my head of you.

You ended up being my perfect escape, and now, I find myself here, trying to escape you.

I feel just as unstable as the foundation that was built between us.

Here I am, in this Greyhound bus station, alone in my thoughts of you, surrounded by strangers and chaos, as I try to sort out the chaos that is in my head.

This place is filled with

everything I’ve been disconnected from.

It’s the America we’ve been watching

on documentaries and Netflix Originals

lately, ridden with all the problems

working-class America faces daily.

Problems that feel inescapable.

The brotha sitting in the corner

by the bathroom

looks and reeks like

he’s been at this station for days.

It’s that familiar, pungent smell,

mixed with hard city living,

and having given up on it entirely.

It lingers strongly in the air, making it seem as

though it’s coming at me from all angles,

with each person that passes me by.

I’ve been standing in this line for what feels like hours,

waiting to retrieve a ticket I have already purchased online.

At least I’m traveling much lighter than how I feel on the inside.

I stare at my small carry-on bag,

surrounded by tattered bags,

dusty bags, duffle bags,

big black garbage bags,

all piled up, as if on a motionless

conveyor belt at baggage claim.

They form lines that are just as broken

as the owners standing next to them.

There’s a white, middle-aged

man in front of me.

The tone of his thick southern accent

and the way he delivers his words

is nostalgic of everything

that is politically wrong with this country.

There’s a liberation in his voice,

as he talks about

his days in jail, and how

his lady would complain

about the Greyhound delays

and mishaps on her way to his conjugal visits.

There’s also, la señora.

La pobre señora.

My heart weeps, as she tries

to get clarity on why this damn

company keeps making changes to her return ticket.

Where are the Spanish-speaking attendants in this sanctuary city?

Roscoe behind the counter

has been attending

Greyhound passengers

since seven this morning.

It is now 11pm.

He could be watching Love and Hip-Hop

right about now.

He gives la señora the resting bitch face.

Sorry Maria Alejandra, but the closest

you’re getting to Spanish with Roscoe

is the ‘Lo siento’ he learned in high school

Spanish class and the leftover taquitos he saved

from lunch earlier.

Speaking Mexican is not apart

of his job description.

So, this is what second class citizenship feels like?

Whoever said money doesn’t buy happiness

should give them a one-way ticket and $19

to be left at a Greyhound station.

I board the bus.

Claim my window seat.

I am free of the chaos.

My thoughts go back to you.

I see you everywhere I go.

I’ve imagined you in more places

than I’ve actually see your face.

You are an accessible 40-minute train ride away,

yet you won’t let me access anything

that goes on inside of you.

You have a quiet strength

and a disguised vulnerability

beneath your stoic facial expressions and macho exterior.

Even in your direct, short and sometimes rude way

of communication, I’ve caught glimpses of soft undertones.

I worry about what could be

if I live this out fully with you.

I worry about what won’t if I don’t.

I don’t do well with regrets.

The wheels on this bus are now

zig-zagging between the shoulder of the

expressway and the right lane.

Did the driver fall asleep?

Is his ass drunk?

I just can’t get comfortable on this bus.

I squirm to get comfortable between

the window and the 90’s version of

Becky Conner sleeping peacefully next to me.

I’m determined. I need sleep.

I’m just as determined to find

some kind of comfort in the discomfort of you.

It won’t go away and

I don’t think I want it to.

I fight myself on the inside.

I’m on the cusp of letting this thing we got flow,

and insisting that you too explore the possibility of

us being something more than the definitionless

version of this relationship.

Finding balance

between these emotion-filled

thoughts that zig-zag between

my head and my heart is exhausting.

I’M ON A GREYHOUND BUS FROM NASHVILLE TO CHICAGO…

I was a phone call away from

booking a flight back to Chicago

with American Airlines,

after being in that crazy station,

on that crazy bus.

But I think there’s more

to discover on this long road.

In an era where feminism is growing and unrelenting,

I’ve never felt more in control of myself and where I’m going next.

But when I am with you,

all I do is lose control, not knowing

where you’ll take me next.

You are my dream.

You are my nightmare.

You make me weak.

You make me mad.

You make me feel safe,

the way you tower over me.

You are the one man

that isn’t afraid to grasp me

in your palm, as if all of this belongs to you.

I kinda love that.

The feeling of being chosen

in those moments feels so good.

A couple on the back of the bus

all of a sudden gets into a verbal

fisticuffs, waking up every passenger

Out of their slumber as we approach St. Louis.

The driver stops the bus.

“You just mad cause I left yo ass!” she says.

“Oh, you got shootaz?

Naw, you just mad cause you

not comin’ home wit me tonight!

Bus driver, he ova here bein’ abusive!”

“Obamanisha Jenkins, please shut up,”

I whisper under my breath.

I’m tired and ready to go home.

Tyrone nonchalantly gathers

his belongings, from beside her,

only peppering the argument

with minimal remarks

to her hysteria.

“Ma’am please calm down.

You are the aggressor in this situation,”

the bus driver says.”

The driver proceeds.

Tyrone switches seats only to sit behind me.

He’s cool and calm.

How do couples end up like this?

How did their relationship start?

Resistance isn’t the cure to you.

There is something so intoxicating

about your toxic silence that

manipulates me to come to conclusions

I don’t want to at times.

I’m back home now.

I have more clarity.

It’s all been in my head, the things

that have yet to happen with you.

Or probably never will.

It dawns on me…

I haven’t been running away from you.

I’ve been running away from myself.

It isn’t you I’m afraid of.

I am wildly vulnerable and ready

to take more of this drug you’ve

given me and that I’ve gladly accepted

in dosis, in fear of an overdose.

Letting go is overrated.

You can’t let go until you

go through it all the way.

Until you get the answers you need.

Or just too tired to hold on any longer.

I’m not tired.

Nor have I had enough of you

when I probably should.

The mystery is behind this door.

It’s wide open.

I am terrified to walk through it.

I won’t do it.

--

--