To be Continued

Máyọ̀wá
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readMar 6, 2018

a little bit of prose

Internet Archive Book Images

It’s this tenderness, like a well massaged raw slab of steak.
It could be like any other kind of tender thing, but I’m on a diet and I’m hungry.
But I do feel your hand on my heart, moving back and forth so rhythmically; like a lullaby, lulling, pulling me into love.
I love you.

We’re looking at each other now.
Brown to brown.
I’ve always wanted a brown eyed boy for my own.
You belong to me and I love you.

I can close my eyes, because I know when I open them, I’ll see you right there.
So I close them.
And open.

Here you are.
How are you more beautiful?

Brown to brown again, your pupils dilate.
I know what that means.
I do because I feel it; I feel you too.
We haven’t touched, no one has even a said a word.
But I can hear you loving.
The slow intake of oxygen and with the release of CO. Two…

Two.
Two.
The two of us at the beginning of this eternity.
One Jack, one Jill about to tip over into this bottomless well.
This is the journey all must take.
I am glad I’m falling into this love with you.
Jill loves you Jack.
She does.
It’s true.

You say something.
Heaven knows you could be saying anything and my ear’s mouth will open and eat what say.
Your voice is honey, Honey and my love is a bear.
I love you…

--

--

Máyọ̀wá
P.S. I Love You

Nigerian-American. Wishes she could speak her mother tongue like her mother's tongue. Regaining my kàlore after living a mostly invisible life.