To the Girl Who I Gave My Heart and Broke It

You did not really break it, but it broke nonetheless

GB
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readFeb 20, 2019

--

I ripped my heart out
I pulled it out
Held it my hand
It was still beating warm

You did not really break it
I gave it to you
I took it back
And I smashed it to the ground

I took a chance with you
I risked everything to be with you
I exposed myself
And I expected a lot

You saw me
At my highest and my best
You witnessed
My lowest and my worst

But my highest and my best
Was not enough for you to stay
And my lowest and my worst
Was too much for you to bear

Still I chose you
Still I fought for you
Still I wanted you
Still I forgave you

All was in vain
For it was only me
Who wished so badly
For things to continue

I was a prison to you
My heart became a burden
It was too heavy
Dragging your own heart with it

But it was you
Who hardened my heart
It was you
Who made me take it out

It was beating warm
It was hard as stone
Brittle and breakable
I smashed it to the ground

You did not really break it
I broke it for you
But I did give it to you
And it broke, in doing so

--

--

GB
P.S. I Love You

Some guy who just wants to write about his feelings