Water

Vijay Upadhyay
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2018

I am like water, I change
my colours, shape and reflection
as quickly. I keep changing my
directions but I create my own path.
I seek depth and going downwards
isn’t a bad thing for me.
I nourish and transform barren lands
into fertile oases. I put away the fire
and quench thirsts. I wash away
the sins and sooth burns.

I was sick and hospitalized for more than a month we changed 3 hospitals in 3 different cities. There was very little hope for me to be cured, it wouldn’t be a surprise if I had died there. It’s been more than 15 years since. I don’t remember much about it but one evening looking at the local news paper I read a small poem I don’t even remember the whole poem just two lines:

Original:
Behte hue pani ne pattharon pe nishan chhoda h,
Ajeeb baat h pattharon ne pani pe koi nishan ni chhoda.

.

English:
Rocks are marked by flow of the water,
strangely rocks failed to leave any on the water.

I don’t remember the name of that poet and to be honest I didn’t actually understand the meaning of these lines back then. But now whenever I remember these lines I cannot stop myself from wondering how amazing these lines are, and how important a lesson. How often do we become rigid and think moving away is a sign of weakness. But in reality our world is shaped by those who move and the people who are rigid are marked by others’ movements. So be like water, keep changing, keep flowing, keep moving forward.

--

--

Vijay Upadhyay
P.S. I Love You

Poetry, philosophy, psychology, leadership, finance. My experiences, observations and things I do. vijayupadhyay4936@gmail.com