When the Chemicals React

A Poem

S Seig
P.S. I Love You
1 min readMay 3, 2020

--

Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

After time apart,
This moment has finally come.
Barreling through the door,
You grab my face.
I sigh in expectation
And my body
Goes
Numb.
The warmth of your breath,
As you go in for a kiss.
Did I lift up from the ground?
How I’ve waited for this.

Not much time,
Precious moments slipping by.
There’s still work to be done.
Fumble then run,
To a dimly lit room
For just us two.

No time for pleasantries.
No time to talk.
Class is in session
Right now o’clock.

It’s time to study.
What should our lesson be?
Let’s focus on chemistry
Turn this bunsen burner up
A few degrees.

Cool fingertips
As instruments
Against my soft skin.
Spinning like a centrifuge in these sheets,
As clothes are thrown about in increments.

Have we found the perfect balance of pressure
During this little experiment?
As our chemicals react,
We might just tip these scales,
And that volcano erupts in my body and soul.

--

--