When We Discover the “Why” of Cancer

My son might inherit the cancer that killed his dad

Heather McLeod
P.S. I Love You

--

Brock and Isaac, months before Brock’s cancer diagnosis in 2014.

It’s been three years and two months since my young husband died of kidney cancer. Yesterday, my mom-in-law called with news: a doctor has diagnosed the family with a rare genetic predisposition. They’ve suffered collapsed lungs for generations, which (we now know) is a red flag for Birt-Hogg-Dube syndrome.

This rare syndrome affects the skin and lungs and increases the risk of developing non-cancerous and cancerous kidney tumours.

Discovering why my husband died of cancer

I’ve never wasted time wondering why or how Brock got cancer. It was a mystery to everyone: a thirty-five-year-old farmer of certified-organic crops, who didn’t work with known carcinogens or smoke. He didn’t like strong smells, so we never used scents or strong chemicals in the house.

I figured we’d never know how Brock got cancer and had made peace with that.

Knowing now that he was likely killed by a genetic disorder doesn’t change anything. It’s a rare disorder, and he didn’t develop the benign skin tumours that signal it: I’m not surprised we didn’t discover the disorder or his cancer sooner. There’s no one to blame.

--

--