Why A Sommelier Decided To Take a Break FromWine Time

Really, it started with intuition

Molly Zemek
P.S. I Love You

--

Photo Courtesy of Chris Montgomery on Unsplash

Wine was part of my life from the beginning. My great-grandparents made it in the basement of their home in Italy.

“Is it wine time?” was a question asked daily by at least one of my parents. It was then I knew the day was winding down. As a child, I remember the sound of a bottle uncorked at five o’clock each evening, and my parents sitting glass in hand before dinner.

As an adult, drinking was an even bigger part of my life. It started with my love of food that evolved into a career as a professional chef. I soon understood that wine varietals have flavor profiles, and accentuate the experience of eating. I curiously explored California Chardonnay, Spanish Rioja, French Vouvray, Argentinian Malbec, and many others the way an artist dabbles with colors.

I noticed the tannins in a robust red cut through the richness of aged beef. The floral notes in a Sauternes elevate flavors like peach and almond in a summer fruit tart. The nuance in taste with each perfectly paired bite piqued my desire.

When an opportunity came to enroll in a wine studies course, I didn’t hesitate. I learned about soil conditions, flavor terminology, and how to do a blind tasting. I sniffed, swirled, and sipped my way through…

--

--

Molly Zemek
P.S. I Love You

I am a chef and life coach who helps people change their relationship with food and alcohol. You can learn more at www.mollyzemek.com