Why Do I Continue?

Beverley J. Hall
P.S. I Love You
Published in
1 min readJul 7, 2019
© Dave Webb : Unsplash

Why do I continue,
to cling to the end,
to hold on and extend,
the pain of detinue?

I look at the ashes
of my love for you
and wonder if there ever were two
in the heart thrown thrashes.

I needed something,
I didn’t know what,
But it wasn’t you, although I thought
of bells and hearts and rings.

I move toward freedom,
The splinters of love
scattering like the wings of a dove
flapping with a new-found numb.

The light of the future,
the hope of the next,
So much less complex.
But, peaceful calm beneath the suture.

I hope that someday.
I will find a way,
To live with the waste,
Of my love in haste,
Of my need for you,
And what came in lieu.

--

--

Beverley J. Hall
P.S. I Love You

Writer of Fantasy, dreamer, dweller of fantastical worlds, cat-lover, massive user of post-it notes.