Photo by Alejandra Quiroz on Unsplash

Your Birthday card: update

Nick Constantine
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2018

--

I guess it went as best as I could have hoped for it to go. I sent you a birthday card to show you that I still care and that I still think of you. I guess I was hoping for this great big thank you and a reconnection but that didn’t really happen.

Instead I got a very generic message a little over a week later saying “Hey nick, I just got your card and wanted to say that it was a very nice gesture and wanted to say thanks. Hope all is well.” I guess I should be grateful that she even responded at all. I guess that means she still cares right? I responded by saying that I was glad she got it and that things are going well. When she texted me my heart felt like it skipped a beat and memories of you came flooding back.

I took a step back and looked at the message and I worried myself that it was so generic on purpose but I tend to overthink things when it comes to women.

I’m curious what you’ll do for my birthday, if i’ll get a card from you. Maybe i’ll get nothing at all. I know you remember my brithday. Hopefully you will think of me for just a little bit on that day and maybe just maybe you’ll reach out.

--

--